JUNITE

Junite a social network for children between the ages of 8 and 12 to promote their media competence and promote a better understanding of the potential risks of social networks. Project partner is the funding initiative “A Net for Children” („Ein Netz für Kinder“).

Show more
JUNITE
Project commission

Changing your privacy settings, “flagging” strangers, recognising advertising as “phishing” a first encounter with social networks in the internet should not be dangerous and should take place in a protected space. We are developing a social network called Junite a network for children between the ages of 8 and 12. Project partner is the funding initiative “A Net for Children” (Ein Netz für Kinder), carried by the, Federal Ministry for Family Affairs, Senior Citizens, Women and Youth and the Minister of Culture, Monika Grütters.

Concept for a trial social network

Upon logging in www.junite.de the participants first learn about the basic functions of a social network. The schedule for the learning modules can be flexible and take between 90 minutes and two weeks. Junite features special tasks and challenges: strangers post friend requests; games and competitions require private data – those who react correctly gain experience points. Playing takes place using a home computer or mobile devices. In contrast to real life, problematic actions by players are immediately registered by Junite and reported to the teacher in charge. Evaluation takes place in the classroom and sensitises the children to a safe use of social networks.

Technical features

The technical framework was specifically designed for Junite and is based on the most up-to-date technologies in web applications. The main aim is to make Junite “be like Facebook.” Thanks to a sufficient amount of testing and further development, the Junite features come close to this aim. Real-time communication, group chats and live updates on bulletin board entries; points system, bonus steps, avatars and a personal password coach complete the long list of features. The platform's defining characteristic is the interplay of the features: Junite comes very close to the reality of social media and at the same time playfully conveys educational media-related content, thereby alerting the young players to the functionalities and effects of social media.

EYE

European Youth Event 2014 – planpolitik developed and implemented an ideas lab for more than 750 participants from all over Europe. A four-week online critique phase was followed by ten workshops in the European Parliament building in Strasbourg.

Show more
European Youth Event
Project commission

What is currently going wrong in the EU and what should Europe's economic, social and political future look like? Following a commission by the European Parliament, we posed these questions to around 5000 young Europeans in the spring of 2014 – first online and then face to face. We developed and implemented an ideas lab complete with a four-week online critique phase for the European Youth Event plus ten workshops in the Parliament building in Strasbourg. Based on the collected criticisms, more than 750 selected participants developed visions and ideas for a better Europe. The most interesting visions were documented and submitted to the members of the European Parliament in the summer of 2014.

Mobile Webseite
Digital features and implementation

We developed a responsive website (languages: GER, EN, FR) for the online critique phase. On this site, the 5.000 participants were able to register their thoughts on the deficits presently faced in Europe. The website functions as follows: all posts can be seen on the virtual bulletin board – participation, however, is only possible after registering. Once registered, participants can create posts and add pictures or audio material. Every post can be assigned to one of the five main categories as well as being tagged, allowing posts on the bulletin board to be filtered. It is possible to rate other users' posts or report inappropriate posts to the editorial team at planpolitik. This causes a reaction via the CMS: after assessing the post, the editorial team may remove it.

Application

Following the online critique phase, we carried out ten ideas labs over a period of two days at the European Parliament (EP) in Strasbourg. During each of the three-hour workshops we had parallel debates in up to six teams: young people from all over Europe engaging in intensive conversations about the best paths towards a better Europe. At the end, each creative team posted its best ideas on the digital bulletin board and presented them to high-ranking EP representatives.
The website can also be used for other interactive formats; e.g. as a closed real time commentary tool at conferences or workshops, or at the outset of an integrative change management process in your organisation or company.

Next Level: Europe

The online-supported simulation game series “Next level: Europe” - commissioned by the European Commission Representation in Germany – focuses on the role of the regions in the European political process. The kick-off event took place on May 21, 2015!

Show more
NEXT LEVEL: EUROPE
Project commission

We realised that many pupils do not know a lot about the role the regions play in the European political process. Our solution: the simulation game series “Next level: Europe” on the topics of “European Asylum Policy” and “European Energy and Climate Policy”, as commissioned by the European Commission Representation in Germany. Over the following three years we will present these simulation games all over Germany and train multipliers in facilitating them. In order for the multipliers to have access to the simulation game materials and to be able to give their pupils up-to-date background information at all times, we have developed the project-related website www.europaplanspiel.de.

Digital features and implementation

The responsive online portal for Next level: Europe is aimed at teachers and pupils. The teacher area with restricted access contains simulation game materials, methodical advice and background information, available as a free download. There is also an interactive assistant for distributing roles and for facilitating the game. If necessary, the editorial team will update and extend the materials – a great advantage compared to working with quickly outdated print materials. In the pupil area – open to all – users can take part in quizzes and earn so-called learning badges. The info center contains multimedia packages for beginners, advanced players and experts – everybody can find the material best suited to them. A virtual bulletin board – supervised and edited by planpolitik – invites youngsters to exchange ideas and opinions on the EU and the topics of asylum and Climate change.

JUNITE

Junite - ein soziales Netzwerk für Kinder zwischen 8 und 12 Jahren zur Förderung der Medienkompetenz und zum bewussteren Umgang mit möglichen Gefahren sozialer Netzwerke. Projektpartner ist die staatliche Förderinitiative Ein Netz für Kinder.

Mehr erfahren
JUNITE
Projektauftrag

Privatsphäre „einstellen“, Unbekannte „flaggen“ und Werbung als „phishing“ erkennen – die erste Begegnung mit sozialen Netzwerken im Internet sollte ungefährlich sein und in einem geschützten Raum stattfinden. Unter dem Namen Junite entwickeln wir ein soziales Netzwerk für Kinder zwischen 8 und 12 Jahren. Dort trainieren Schülerinnen und Schüler Medienkompetenz und lernen, mit den möglichen Gefahren sozialer Netzwerke umzugehen. Projektpartner ist die Förderinitiative Ein Netz für Kinder, getragen durch das Bundesministerium für Familie, Senioren, Frauen und Jugend sowie durch die Kulturstaatsministerin Monika Grütters.

Soziales Netzwerk auf Probe

Nach dem ersten Login auf www.junite.de lernen die Teilnehmenden zunächst die Grundfunktionen eines sozialen Netzwerks kennen. Die Lerneinheiten können flexibel stattfinden und dauern zwischen 90 Minuten und zwei Wochen. Das Besondere an der Benutzung von Junite sind die eingebauten Aufgaben und Herausforderungen: Unbekannte stellen Freundschaftsanfragen, Gewinnspiele fordern private Daten – wer richtig reagiert, sammelt Erfahrungspunkte. Gespielt wird zuhause am Computer oder auf mobilen Geräten. Anders als im „real life“ werden problematische Handlungen der Spieler/innen von Junite sofort registriert und der begleitenden Lehrkraft gemeldet. Die Auswertung dieser Spielereignisse findet im Klassenraum statt und sensibilisiert die Kinder im Umgang mit sozialen Netzwerken.

Technische Features

Der technische Rahmen wurde eigens für Junite entwickelt und beruht auf den aktuellsten Technologien von Web-Applikationen. Das große Ziel: Junite soll "so wie Facebook" sein. Dank ausreichend vieler Tests und Weiterentwicklungen kommen die Features von Junite diesem Ziel sehr nah: Echtzeit-Kommunikation, Gruppenchats und Live-Updates von Pinnwandeinträgen; Punktesystem, Gratifikationsstufen, Avatar-Erstellung und ein eigener Passwort-Trainer ergänzen die lange Feature-Liste. Das Besondere an unserer Plattform ist das Zusammenspiel der Features: Junite kommt damit der Realität von sozialen Medien sehr nahe und vermittelt gleichzeitig spielerisch medienpädagogische Inhalte – und schärft so das Bewusstsein der jungen Spieler/innen über Funktionsweise und Wirkung sozialer Netzwerke.

EYE

European Youth Event 2014 – planpolitik konzipiert und implementiert ein Ideenlabor für über 750 Jugendliche aus ganz Europa. Einer vierwöchigen Onlinephase folgen zehn Workshops im Straßburger Parlamentsgebäude.

Mehr erfahren
European Youth Event
Projektauftrag

Was läuft derzeit falsch in der EU und wie soll die wirtschaftliche, soziale und politische Zukunft Europas aussehen? Im Auftrag des Europäischen Parlaments stellten wir diese Frage rund 5.000 jungen Europäerinnen und Europäern – erst online und dann face-to-face. Für das European Youth Event (EYE2014) im Frühjahr 2014 konzipierten und implementierten wir ein Ideenlabor mit einer vierwöchigen Online-Kritikphase plus zehn Workshops im Straßburger Parlamentsgebäude. Auf Basis der online gesammelten Kritik entwickelten dort mehr als 750 ausgewählte Teilnehmende Visionen und Ideen für ein besseres Europa. Die interessantesten Visionen wurden dokumentiert und im Sommer 2014 den Abgeordneten des EU-Parlaments übergeben.

Mobile Webseite
Technische Features

Für die Online-Kritikphase entwickelten wir eine responsive Website (Sprachversionen: DE, EN, FR), auf der die 5.000 Teilnehmenden des EYE2014 ihre Gedanken zu Defiziten der europäischen Gegenwart posten konnten. Und so funktioniert die Website: Auf der virtuellen Pinnwand können alle geposteten Beiträge gelesen werden – eine Beteiligung ist jedoch nur nach Registrierung und Anmeldung möglich. Dann kann man Beiträge verfassen und mit Bild- oder Audiomaterial ergänzen. Jeder Post lässt sich einer der fünf Oberkategorien zuordnen und mit Tags versehen, so dass die Beiträge auf der Pinnwand gefiltert werden können. Man kann Posts anderer User bewerten oder dem Redaktionsteam von planpolitik als unangemessen melden. Über das Redaktions-CMS wird dann reagiert und der Beitrag nach inhaltlicher Prüfung ggf. von der Website entfernt.

Anwendung

Im Anschluss an die Online-Kritikphase veranstalteten wir an zwei Tagen im Mai 2014 im Europäischen Parlament (EP) Straßburg zehn Ideenlabore. Und auch dort kam die virtuelle Pinnwand zum Einsatz. In den zehn jeweils dreistündigen Workshops debattierten parallel bis zu sechs Teams – bestehend aus jungen Menschen aus ganz Europa –über die besten Wege zu einem besseren Europa. Anschließend übertrug jedes Kreativteam seine besten Ideen auf die digitale Pinnwand und präsentierte sie so zum Abschluss des Workshops hochrangigen Vertreter/innen des EPs. Die Website lässt sich auch für andere interaktive Formate einsetzen, z.B. als geschlossenes Real-Time-Kommentar-Tool bei Konferenzen/Workshops oder zum Auftakt eines integrativen Change-Management-Prozesses in Ihrer Einrichtung oder Ihrem Unternehmen.

Next Level: Europe

Die onlinegestützte Planspielreihe „Next level: Europe“– entwickelt im Auftrag der Vertretung der Europäischen Kommission in Deutschland – beleuchtet die Rolle der Regionen im europäischen Politikprozess. Kick-off war im Mai 2015!

Mehr erfahren
NEXT LEVEL: EUROPE
Projektauftrag

Die Erkenntnis: Viele Schülerinnen und Schüler wissen nicht viel über die Rolle der Regionen im Europäischen Politikprozess. Unsere Lösung: Die Planspielreihe „Next level: Europe“ zu den Themen „Europäische Asylpolitik“ und „Europäische Energie- und Klimapolitik“ – entwickelt im Auftrag der Vertretung der Europäischen Kommission in Deutschland. In den kommenden drei Jahren werden wir die Planspiele in allen Bundesländern vorstellen und Multiplikator/innen dazu schulen. Damit die Multiplikator/innen anschließend jederzeit Zugriff auf die Planspielmaterialien haben und ihren Schülerinnen und Schülern aktuelle Hintergrund-Infos bieten können, gibt es die projektbegleitende Website www.europaplanspiel.de

Technische Features

Das responsive Online-Portal von Next level: Europe richtet sich an Lehrkräfte und Schüler/innen. Im zugriffgeschützten Lehrkräftebereich stehen die Planspielmaterialien, methodische Hinweise und Hintergrundinformationen als kostenloser Download zur Verfügung. Außerdem gibt es dort interaktive Assistenten für die Rollenvergabe und die Spielleitung. Die Redaktion aktualisiert und erweitert die Materialien bei Bedarf – ein großer Vorteil gegenüber schnell veraltenden Print-Materialien. Im offen zugänglichen Schüler/innenbereich können die User an Quizzes teilnehmen und sich sog. Learning Badges verdienen. Die Infothek enthält multimediale Angebote für Einsteiger/innen, Kenner/innen und Expert/innen – so findet man immer das Richtige für sich. Eine virtuelle Pinnwand – redaktionell von planpolitik betreut – lädt die Jugendlichen zum Austausch über die EU und die Themen Asyl und Klima ein.